Our Temple office will be closed on Monday, May 29, Memorial Day, and on Wednesday, May 31 in observance of Shavuot.
Please join us on Tuesday night at 7:00 pm for Shavuot Festival Service and Confirmation and Wednesday at 11:00 am for Shavuot Morning Service with Yizkor.

Confirmation Class 2016

Temple Beth El celebrated the Confirmation of our Tenth Graders on Friday evening, June 10, 2016.

TBE Confirmation students created and led a Shabbat service that honored and celebrated Shabbat, Shavuot, and the journey of the year of our Confirmation community. Through creative presentations and readings written and performed by our students, musical pieces led by student guitars and voices, a celebratory dinner, and blessings and gifts presented after dinner, TBE came together to see and hear the accumulated wisdom of our students. Congratulations to Layla Aberman, Benjamin Cassell, Sarah Choffin, Jason Dermack, Amanda June Di Nicola, Thomas Ecker, Hannah Garfinkel, Limor Goldsmith, David Gordon, Matthew Hennes, Lanie Hitt, Madison Huberman, Max Huberman, Brandon Klein, Tyler Lewis, Eliza Lieberman, Noah Makley, Alexander Olinger, Lindsay Rosenzweig, Jillian Schlesinger, Peter Shelley, Peri Sisskind, Maxwell Wallach, Ross Whipkey, and Ellie Wilkoff.

TBE_Confirm16_0002_E_COur community also presented the Michelle Miller award to two outstanding Jewish ambassadors in our Confirmation Class.

Eliza Lieberman and Peri Sisskind Selected as Recipients of the Michelle Miller Award

Michelle Miller (1985-2002) was a member of the Temple Beth El Confirmation class of 2002 who deeply embraced Judaism, was dedicated to learning about her Jewish faith and excelled in teaching others about Judaism.  Michelle’s life was devoted to furthering the values of Judaism in herself and others.  In her memory, her parents, Fred and Joy Miller, and her sister, Rose Planer, have established the Michelle Miller Award for Jewish Commitment which goes to the student who stands out among his or her classmates as one who embodies these same values surrounding the teaching and living of Judaism that Michelle embraced.

Eliza Lieberman and Peri Sisskind have been selected as this year’s confirmation class recipients of the Michelle Miller Award for Jewish Commitment.

Eliza Lieberman is in her second year of serving on the LIBERTY Board – the leadership of our nationally acclaimed Youth Group. She was just elected Religious and Cultural Vice President for the coming year. Eliza is a B’nei Mitzvah tutor helping students to learn to chant Torah and Haftarah.

Peri Sisskind is a member of our Shalom Park Teen Coalition. This group of teen leaders plans community-wide teen programs for our Charlotte Jewish Youth. Peri participates with every youth group – BBYO, LIBERTY, and even Temple Israel.

With students like Eliza and Peri, we know the future of the Jewish people will be bright.  Thank you to Fred and Joy Miller and Jonathan and Rose Planer for supporting this program and inspiring and celebrating our stellar youth.  What a beautiful way to honor Michelle’s memory!